babies, baby gear, cloth diapers, first time mom, military life, SAHM, twins

DIY baby wipes

Have you really read the ingredient label on a box of wipes? How bout on a box of the “natural” wipes? If you haven’t go ahead and try to pronounce those ingredients without having to sound it out slowly, I know I can’t!

When I wanted to cloth diaper I also wanted to make my own wipes but in the beginning, we had a box of wipes because I wasn’t sure if i’d have time to make them. Well, after getting some diaper rashes when they were younger, I experimented with some wipes solution recipes to see what worked and came up with this simple one. Ever since I started making my own, there’s no more diaper rash and as a bonus, I can use these on myself to take off my makeup. They smell great and remind me of a that freshly showered smell. I make these with paper towels but you could totally use up some rags to use for cloth wipes, which I intend on doing as soon as this package of paper towels is used up. In the end, this is way cheaper to make on my own and I feel better that there are only 4 ingredients I can pronounce with no problems. I’ve had no problems with mold and the solution sat there in the bottle for a month while I was on vacation and nothing, not even the wipes I had in their diaper bag or upstairs in their room.

Anti fungal wipes solution

IMAG2752

  • 3 cups warm water
  • 1 tbsp baby shampoo, preferably tear free ( for these I used the lavender and chamomile scented soap)
  • 1 tbsp apricot oil (you can use olive oil, coconut oil or any natural oil you want. Baby oil works too but it’s not CD safe.)
  • 3 drops tea tree oil
  • couple drops of your choice of essential oil (optional but not necessary)
  • funnel
  • 1 roll of paper towels  (I use the these Bounty ones)
  • Empty wipes container or wipe warmer case

1. Take the paper towel roll and cut in half.

IMAG2754

2. Grab a container that can hold at least a liter of liquid (I used a cleaned out glass whiskey bottle). Place the funnel in the opening of your bottle and pour all the ingredients in.

IMAG2761

3. Once all ingredients are in, place cap on bottle and shake to combine.

IMAG2762

4. Pour a 1/2 cup of the prepared solution into a container.

IMAG2764

5. Fold the towels in there to fit. After a few layers, press down so more will fit in. This old Huggies container held about half of the roll.

IMAG2765 (1)           IMAG2766    IMAG2767

6. Pour the another 1/2 cup over the top of the wipes, close the top and flip upside down for 10 minutes, then flip back over for another 10 minutes.

IMAG2768 (1)

7. Check to if wipes are saturated. If they are not, pour more solution where it is dry and let them sit again.
8. Once the wipes are saturated enough, thread them through the opening and use away!

They should be moist, but not overly damp or else, they will tear easily. These smelled amazing with the lavender/chamomile soap!

 

Leave a Reply

