baking, cook, food, kitchen, military life, SAHM

Oatmeal quinoa breakfast muffins

IMAG2735.jpg

Life with twins is busy but I do find time to do the things that I love, which is baking. Since Dan and I are both busy, I like to make quick breakfasts so we can both grab a bite in the morning. Things like frozen breakfast sandwiches, overnight oats or muffins. I made these this morning and I thought I would share the recipe.

I’ve been wanting to cook more with quinoa so I used them in this breakfast muffin. If you haven’t tried quinoa or know what it is, it’s a South American grain that is protein packed. Here is some more info on it if you’re interested. My mom has a few recipes for it since in Bolivia, they’ve been cooking with it way before it became the newest diet fad and I need to get together with her so I can pick her brain about more quinoa recipes.

IMAG2734.jpg

These muffins are not exactly like fluffy, cake type muffin but more of a dense kind, but it is still delicious. There is no additional sugar besides the chocolate chips so it results in a muffin with just the perfect amount of sweetness so I feel better when I eat more than one!

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1-2 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (sweetened for a slightly sweeter muffin)
  • 1 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 3 tbsp mini chocolate chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 375.
  2. In a large bowl, mash the bananas and the peanut butter. You’re almost going to cream them together.
  3. Once that is combined, whisk in the baking powder, milk, vanilla, eggs, oatmeal and cooked quinoa. Stir in the chips once everything is mixed together.
  4. Spray your muffin tin with oil/Pam and pour batter into pan, about 1/4 per cup. They’ll be filled almost all the way.
  5. Place on middle rack for 20 minutes. Once they’re done, they may feel a little spongey so don’t worry but if you’re unsure, stick a toothpick in the middle and if it’s done, it’ll come out clean.
  6. Let these cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes before enjoying.

Makes 15 muffins.

102 calories per muffin with 1 tbsp peanut butter.

1 thought on “Oatmeal quinoa breakfast muffins”

Leave a Reply

