cook, food, kitchen, military life, recruiting duty, SAHM, Uncategorized

Pictures and tacos

Image
My almost 8 month handsome boys!

Last Friday we had their “6 month” (we did them late due to her schedule, but they are almost 8 months now) done! I’m so excited/anxious to see how they turned out, I hope they turned out ok. It was sunny, which was great, but it got colder towards sunset and then it was a bit windy. I had the cutest outfits for them to wear and was sort of bummed it was chilly/windy out so I didn’t get to put their shoes on because I didn’t want to make them more miserable. They were fine in the beginning but started getting cranky when their noses were red and runny, plus, they were cold. We had to take a couple breaks to keep them warm so everything was a bit rushed, I didn’t want to chance them getting sick since they haven’t been yet. This is the same photographer that we’ve been using and she is great. She is seriously sweet and we are going with her “baby’s first year” package she has so we did a maternity, newborn, 6 months and will do their 1 year later on. I’m so excited to put together a little collage with all the pictures we’ve gotten. If you’re in the northern Virginia area check her out! Her name is Marian Lozano and she does wonderful work, I love that she does simple photos and captures people wonderfully.

Image
One of the outfits for picture day

Gosh, I can’t believe they’ll be 8 months old already, the time has gone by at an ok pace but it’s really been a blur. I can hardly remember my pregnancy or the first 6 months really and that’s something to say because when I usually say things like that, i’m drunk ;). Overall they’ve been great an now that my BC pills are regulating my hormones now, I can really enjoy them which is fantastic.

So, speaking of feeling better, i’ve realized that I haven’t really cooked lately, which is odd because I love to cook and i’ve been wanting Mexican food. So while we shopped at a new supermarket, Food Lion (new to us since we’re new to the area) I saw some pork and decided that we haven’t had carnitas for a while. I picked up the ingredients: boston butt, cilantro, corn tortillas, jalapenos and we headed home. They’ve been kinda fussy the past couple of days so it was really a 2 day process to make. I cooked the carnitas on Monday night and put everything together today for dinner. I’ll post the recipe below on what I did with the carnitas. I went a little out for this because I didn’t like the flavor of the tortillas, they tasted a bit sweet and it just didn’t taste right to me. Now, i’ve been wanting to make corn tortillas for a while but usually forget or get lazy so this was a perfect opportunity to do it! So all in all, for dinner tonight it’s carnita tacos with homemade salsa roja and corn tortillas, oh, and also some flan since I haven’t had that for a while either. I gotta say too, that fresh corn tortillas make ALL the difference and now, will never go back to store bought corn tortillas! I also think next time, to get a prettier red color, i’ll toast a guajillo chile to add more umph to the redness.

Image

Carnitas braised in milk

3 1/2-4lb boston butt or pork shoulder

1 ceylon cinnamon stick (not as strong a flavor as regular) or cinnamon stick broken into small pieces

3 garlic whole garlic cloves, peeled

1/2 white onion cut into chunks

1/4 cup orange juice or juice of 1 orange

1 tbsp chili powder

2 tsp cumin

2 tbsp kosher salt

1 tsp black pepper

1/2-1 tsp mexican oregano (1/2 if using regular oregano)

1 cup milk

1/2 cup water

  1. Cut the pork into big chunks and place into a bowl. Add all spices to the meat and toss to coat evenly. Brown pork in a pot and place into a large dish into one even layer.
  2. Place garlic, cinnamon and onion into the cracks of the meat.
  3. Pour liquids over meat.
  4. Drizzle a little oil over the tops of the meat that stick above the liquid to avoid drying it out then cover dish with foil.
  5. Place into a 350 degree oven and cook for 3-4 hours until tender then shred meat.
  6. Strain liquid and skim off the fat. Place 1/2 of the juice back into the dish, pour shredded meat into it and toss.
  7. Place into fridge overnight so the flavors can meld.
  8. Turn broiler on and place under until meat is heated through.
  9. When you’re ready to serve meat place a little bit of oil in a pan then fry meat until crispy, enjoy!

 

Salsa roja- Makes only a little, just enough for the tacos

3 roma tomatoes cut into chunks (I used 4 canned whole tomatoes)

3 garlic cloves

1 heaping handful of chile de arbol, remove stems

oil

1 tsp kosher salt

  1. Place about 1 tbsp of oil into a pan and fry garlic and chiles. Make sure to open a window or turn your vent on!!! Fry until golden and add to blender.
  2. Add in chopped tomatoes and fry for about 2 minutes, then add in 1/4 cup water and let boil for about 2 minutes.
  3. Place everything into blender, add water or if you’re using canned then add some of the juice until everything is combined. Add more salt if needed.
Leave a Reply

