marine corps, military life, recruiting duty, twins, Uncategorized

Update on our military life

Well ladies and gentleman, it’s been a chaotic last 2 years since I’ve updated this blog!

Our Marine life

We survived recruiting duty!

Yup, we are a success story out of the tons you hear about it being such a horrible duty. Yes it was lonely and it had it’s hardships but overall it wasn’t terrible. I’m not sure if it’s because of my attitude about it all or the fact that we just were civil with eachother heh. Anyhow, we did it. He did great on recruiting, he was able to pick up GySgt and got the Navy Commendation Medal because of recruiting! So to me, it was a successful, learning experience during our first 3 years of marriage and surviving with 3 kids. We learned a lot about each other and it strengthened our relationship. Would we go back to recruiting? NOPE, he says “No way in hell.” but we do know of many people who did go back and make a career out of it because picking up nowadays in the Marine Corps is pretty difficult. If you haven’t seen my older post you can read it here  about recruiting duty. So, if you’re just venturing out on your recruiting duty journey keep these 3 things in mind.

  1. Don’t take his being away from you personal, literally, it’s all business. They are essentially SUCKED IN this world and it takes a lot of their time so don’t think he doesn’t want to be with you. Trust me, they’d rather be home with you!
  2. Don’t dwell on the negativity of it all. There are LOTS of downsides to this duty but if you can survive recruiting duty, you can survive all sorts of things with your spouse or family.

The fleet

We got here and he was being bounced around a lot but finally settled into his new home/unit. BTW, he’s an Artilleryman so he loves to be outside and shoot his big guns. Anyways, once that was squared away they lay it on us that he’s deploying, GREAT! As a military wife, you brace yourself for the deployment, especially after coming off of RD, so that was no big surprise. When I met Dan he deployed shortly afterwards so I was familiar with the training that would take part before. He would be gone on and off training during the next year, then tack on the real thing after that’s all done. We tried to explain what was going on to the kids as much as possible but Claire was still fairly young, one years old. The boys did ok with him being gone, honestly it wasn’t too bad on them because they were so used to him being gone already with the RD schedule. In reality, he hadn’t been around much at all during those 3 years and now with him being around in between the work ups, that was the most he had been around the kids in general. The training was going smoothly, we were coming down to the end of things, starting to realize that reality was setting in and what happens? Yup, I found out I was pregnant!!! (that story will follow in another post)  Come October of 2016 he went on a MEU and we said goodbye to daddy and headed into the next 8+ months of our lives.

12096247_10153661459052008_1041981428741705131_n

 

For the most part the MEU was uneventful but knowing what I knew, I had my worries. Of course, he always calmed my fears and told me he wasn’t worried and everything was going to be ok! Military wives are prepared for these things, we know the dangers and the consequences of deploying but, we can’t help worrying about the “what if’s”.  My mom came to stay with me for a couple of months after the baby was born, I was just living life in our new routine.  March 2016, while washing dishes, I get the most gut wrenching call of my life.

I’m just calling to let you know I’m ok. I got to go. I love you.”

To me, that’s about the second worst call you can receive as a spouse. I was confused by the words but hearing his voice, I knew that something had happened. You don’t just get a call like that for fun, that’s the kind of call they tell you to make. Knowing that, I hopped on the computer and started looking up articles.

I had some other wives trying to get ahold of me when the news hit but they were unable to reach me. Being our first deployment as a family, as a spouse, I really understood why it’s so important to share phone numbers and information with other spouses your husband is deployed with. Looking back now, it was something I remember seeing on Army Wives, the way they came together, prayed and just comforted each other with words. We were all bonded at that moment, all waiting, talking and trying to get our minds off of it. Thank goodness Dan was safe, most of the Marines were safe but unfortunately there were injuries and a casualty. I didn’t have the pleasure to meet him in person but my husband knew him and it was an event that rocked our small arty family. RIP SSgt Cardin, you are loved and missed by many.

After that phone call the rest of the deployment dragged on but he made it home safe. We are so proud of our Marine. We are thankful everyday that we have with him and we thank god he granted us more time with him.

It has been 3 years since we’ve been here so that means our time is up and we’re moving back to California! I’m so happy we’ll be around family and for the kids to get to be around them as well. This move will be interesting and I’ll keep y’all updated on the traveling.

Our Family Life

So we made our move to NC from VA and wooooo, let me tell you that a drive with 3 young toddlers is a battle!!! What should have taken only a few hours took WAY longer because of tantrums and well, just having toddlers. No joke, we dealt with Claire screaming and crying for 5 hours because of the crying ping pong game. If you want to travel with toddlers, I highly advise otherwise! Unless of course, you’re drinking (not while YOU’RE driving 😉 ) but it’s definitely an experience for the books! Once we got here I realized that this base/town isn’t as family oriented as I though it would be. I mean, I haven’t seen this many strip clubs and bars so closely grouped together since Vegas haha. This place has grown on me a bit but I just wish this city would get with the program and please, FINISH PINEY GREEN!! If you’ve lived on Lejeune in the past 10 years, you know what I’m talking about!! So before Dan deployed I got pregnant. I literally, bawled when I took the test, even though I knew it was going to be positive. Not because I didn’t want another child (we had been tossing the idea back and forth for a while) but because I knew it was going to happen while he was gone. I found out in April 2016 and was due on Dan’s birthday so, there was another clumping of birthdays together right there because we have three in August and now three in January! Again, I’ll do another detailed post about baby #4 later. As if life wasn’t chaotic enough, we added on another and honestly, it hasn’t been too bad. The juggling part is the hardest, plus the no sleep and the lack of time for myself now but overall, it hasn’t been horrible. The kids adore him and I have to say it pulls at those heart strings of mine inside when I see them all play together and enjoy each other’s company. Having four kids under the age of five is crazy, tiring and just crazy but I love that they’ll all grow up together and they’re close in age.

 

santa.jpg

 

 

So that’s basically the last 2 years summed up!

 

Leave a Reply

